Site Notice: ****Special Holiday Hours: Hours of operation for Monday September 7th 9am-2pm EST****
Site Maintenance: On 06/06/2012 between 11 PM EST to 1 AM EST the site and its related services will undergo scheduled maintenance.

Arkansas Bankruptcy Exemptions

The chart below contains a summary of Arkansas state bankruptcy exemptions and other relevant statutory laws. Click here for complete State of Arkansas bankruptcy exemptions laws.

Note: Federal bankruptcy exemptions are available. Click here for Federal Bankruptcy Exemptions

Personal exemptions allowed by Arkansas Bankruptcy Laws

Note: Under the 2005 bankruptcy law, almost all types of tax-exempt retirement accounts are exempt in bankruptcy whether state or Federal exemptions are used. Exemptions for 401(k)s, 403(b)s, profit-sharing and money purchase plans, and defined benefit plans include the entire account amounts. However, with traditional and Roth IRAs, the exemption is limited to a total value of $1,171,650 per person for all accounts held by the debtor (not per account). The total value amount is adjusted every three years for inflation. The relevant statutes: 11 U.S.C. §522(d)(12) for Federal bankruptcy exemptions; 11 U.S.C. §522(b)(3)(C) for state bankruptcy exemptions.

Laws That Keep Your Creditors' Hands Off Your Property

Note: While this reference information is current as of August 2010, it may not reflect the most up-to-date exemption figures on official state of Arkansas bankruptcy court statutes.

Arkansas Homestead (Choose Option 1 or 2) Option 1: For married person or head of family: unlimited exemption on real or personal property used as residence to one-quarter acre in city, town, or village, or 80 acres elsewhere; if property is between one-quarter to 1 acre in city, town, or village, or 80-160 acres elsewhere, additional limit is $2,500; homestead may not exceed 1 acre in city, town, or village, or 160 acres elsewhere (husband and wife may not double) Constitution 9-3; 9-4; 9-5; 16-66-210; 16-66-218(b)(3), (4)
Option 2: For real or personal property used as residence: up to $800 if single; $1,250 if married 16-66-218(a)(1)
Wages Earned but unpaid wages due for 60 days (in no event less than $25 per week) 16-66-208; 66-218(b)(6)
Automobile Up to $1,200 16-66-218(a)(2)
Other property Group life insurance 23-79-132
Clothing Constitution 9-1, 9-2
Wedding rings 16-66-219
Prepaid funeral trusts 23-40-117
Burial plot to 5 acres, if claiming Federal homestead exemption (Option 2) 16-66-207; 16-66-218(a)(1)
Implements, books, and tools of trade to $750 16-66-218(a)(4)
Wildcard $500 of any personal property if married or head of family; $200 if not married Constitution 9-1, 9-2; 16-66-218(b)(1),(2)

Back to all State Bankruptcy Exemptions
Go to Complete State of Arkansas bankruptcy exemptions laws.
Go to Federal Bankruptcy Exemptions

Arkansas Bankruptcy Court links :

*The use of partners trademarks are not intended to imply endorsement of these products.

Ready to Start? Call us at 1(888)214-7773